Food + Memories = Cookie Recipe

21 Comments

Do you have any foods that remind you of your childhood? For me, much of my childhood was filled with Kraft Macaroni and Cheese, and Cinnamon Toast Crunch. (I know, what a healthy balance 😉 ) Now you know how I feel about Kraft’s “Cheese” but some of my childhood foods still hit the spot!

Growing up, I loved making cookies with my mom (well, I still do) and our go-to recipe was the Nestle Toll House cookie recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. I remember feeling so proud when I could remember the whole recipe without having to look! So as I stood in the kitchen with my mom, trying to decide what to make, I thought, why not classic chocolate chip cookies? However, we didn’t have any white sugar, so I did make a few substitutions here and there. Here is what it ended up being:

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies (makes about 3 dozen)

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp milk (or soymilk)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal (optional)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Soften your butter and combine it with the brown sugar, vanilla, and milk. You might need to use a hand mixer to get it nice and blended. Then beat in your egg until it’s smooth. Next, combine your flour, salt and baking soda and slowly sift it in.

At this point, I wanted to make some variations. So one third of the dough I dropped into the oven as-is, one third I stirred in walnuts, and one third I added in oatmeal. All three versions came out delicious but I think the oatmeal ones were my personal favorite!


Yummm.

What foods remind you of your childhood?

❤ Liz

21 thoughts on “Food + Memories = Cookie Recipe

  1. Foods that remind me of my childhood? Nesquick chocolate puffs for sure 🙂 And lots of other childish foods like white pasta and ketchup on pita bread lol Even when I was little I had strange tastes 😛

  2. I definitely made the exact same recipe with my mom. Ours always came out a lot flatter than yours did, but that was probably because I always got over zealous when “softening” the butter. Now I’ve got a hankering for a cookie. Mmmm

  3. I love how you do variations on things! So cute. I noticed you have done that before 🙂 cute idea. Gotta love choco. chip cookies!!!
    My favorite childhood recipe was probably gingerbread cookies with my mom…always around the holidays of course 🙂

  4. Those cookies are perfection, girl! They look exactly like the ones I ate as a kiddo, so pretty and chocolate-chip-packed. My favorite as a kid were always snickerdoodles, but I went through an oatmeal/raisin phase, as well as a hard-core peanut butter cookie period. I have quinoa carrot cookies in the oven as we speak! Love me some sweet little circles fresh out of the oven 🙂

  5. nothing beats a choco chip cookie!!! hmm id have to say the smell of my g’mas pot roast reminds me of my childhood..although i dont eat it now!

  6. Apple pie. My mom makes pies every year in the Fall and when we were kids, my sister and I would help. Then we’d take the leftover dough, roll it out, sprinkle it generously with cinnamon sugar, roll it up and bake it to make “pettes de soeurs” – which translates, literally, as “nuns’ farts”.

  7. Pingback: Wednesday Eats & New Goals « I <3 Vegetables

  8. Pingback: More Than You’d Ever Need to Know « I <3 Vegetables

Leave a comment